地中海飲食

橄欖油在地中海飲食的最佳飲食!

  • 橄欖油在你的飲食
  • 橄欖油和地中海飲食
  • “可憐的”飲食

橄欖油在你的飲食

正如我們已經描述的那樣, 橄欖油以其多重效益是最健康的油被消耗. 仍然有一些具體的方面,必須要討論:

  • – 從你的飲食代替不健康的脂肪時,橄欖油有很大的影響 (反式脂肪, 飽和脂肪和膽固醇的) 與單不飽和脂肪 (油酸脂肪酸) 橄欖油含有;
  • – 因為研究表明, 這是 脂肪不是最重要的事情量, 但其質量;
  • – 剛 加入橄欖油的漢堡包並不會降低你的膽固醇 因為它已經不健康的脂肪含量高的;
  • – 如果你消耗了大量的人造黃油, 快餐製品, 小吃和其他食物與氫化脂肪, 不要指望一點橄欖油在你的沙拉來拯救你 (例如, 如果某人的飲食 50% 脂肪是不飽和, 30% 飽和脂肪, 10% 反式脂肪,只 10% 單不飽和脂肪, 這是非常不可能的,這 10% 健康的脂肪確實會產生一定的影響,當其他 40% 脂肪對抗);
  • 讀你買的食品仔細標籤, 避免盡可能的壞脂肪,並試圖取代你用橄欖油利用石油;
  • – 用橄欖油不僅為沙拉,但烹飪;
  • – 開始使用橄欖油是對你的健康達到良好的效果很好的一步, 但仍, 其他標準也必須遵循

橄欖油和地中海飲食

橄欖油發揮在飲食中非常重要的作用,從地中海國家的人以下 50 多年前以上 4000 歲月. 事實上, 橄欖油是脂肪飲食的主要來源 (最多 80%). 但是讓我們看看地中海飲食是和它來自何處.

在 1948, 希臘政府邀請洛克菲勒基金會進行了一項研究,並確定如何提高生活的人口標準. 這項研究取得的克里特島. 然而, 利蘭Allbaugh和他的同事 發現飲食和食物消費水平是出奇的好. 結果表明 61% 在克里特島的飲食總能量是由來自植物性食物,而動物源性食品僅由 7% (美國有 29% 在那個時期) 和 78% 表中的脂肪來自橄欖和橄欖油. 該報告的結論是,: “橄欖, 穀物, 脈衝, 野菜和草藥,水果以及數量羊肉和牛奶和魚類有限仍然基本希臘和西班牙食品40世紀; 沒有膳食是不完整的麵包, 橄欖和橄欖油促進大量的能量攝入, 食品似乎從字面上來游泳的油. 葡萄酒常常被消耗, 與早盤, 中午和晚上吃飯“.

但, 地中海飲食的健康益處的興趣開始 安塞爾鍵的工作誰, 在 1952, 在心臟疾病在該地區的發病率較低印象深刻, 開始 15 多年的調查被稱為 “冠心病七國”. 來自西班牙的數據,希臘, 意大利, 芬蘭, 日本, 荷蘭, 美國. 和南斯拉夫進行了比較,並該信息被用作地中海飲食金字塔的主要研究基礎上世紀90年代開發. 鍵和同事們發現,希臘的人口有心臟疾病率最低的,甚至如果他們消耗了大量的脂肪最高的長壽, 類似像U.S.A國家. 不同的是地中海飲食, 按鍵採用高濃度的血液中的膽固醇,因此相關的美國飲食富含肉類和奶製品的脂肪, 與冠狀動脈疾病的危險性增加.

鑰匙“ 1959 預防冠狀動脈心臟疾病的飲食建議:

  1. 不發胖; 如果你是胖, 減少

  2. 限制飽和脂肪: 牛肉脂肪, 豬肉, 羊肉, 香腸, 人造黃油和固體起酥油和奶製品中的脂肪

  3. 喜歡植物油固體脂肪, 但保持總脂肪下 30% 你的飲食中的卡路里

  4. 青睞新鮮蔬菜, 水果和非脂肪牛奶製品

  5. 避免大量使用鹽和精製糖

  6. 良好的飲食不依賴於藥物和花哨的準備

  7. 得到充分的鍛煉和戶外休閒

  8. 是明智有關香煙, 酒精, 興奮和業務應變

  9. 定期看醫生,不要擔心

之間的另一項研究 1963 和 1965 由歐洲原子能共同體 (歐洲能源原子能委員會) 結果表明,地中海飲食是基於植物食品,其中包括橄欖油為主要脂肪.

但地中海飲食獲得了世界的認可後,才 1993 當Oldways, 公共衛生哈佛學校, 和世界衛生組織歐洲辦公室推出了經典的地中海飲食在劍橋會議, 再加上一個 地中海飲食金字塔圖形. 誰開發了這個金字塔的人是兩個希臘人, 博士. 安東尼Trichopoulou, 雅典大學醫學院教授, 博士. 迪米特里奧斯Trichopoulos, 在哈佛大學公共衛生學院教授.

這個金字塔, 榮獲聯合國教科文組織世界遺產地位, 被普遍認為是促進終身健康的“金標準”食用格局.

“可憐”的飲食

當利蘭Allbough了他的調查 1948 在克里特島, 他注意到,只有六分之一的受訪者很高興與飲食, 他甚至援引一名公民:“我們都餓了大部分的時間。”最理想的食物,在那個時期人肉, 飯, 魚, 職位, 奶酪和黃油. 地中海飲食是實際上是“不良的飲食習慣”. 吃了很多植物性食物,包括綠色草藥和極少量的動物源性脂肪有很大的健康益處. 然而, 食品工業與繁榮的現代化從小就 3-4 倍以上的肉類消費量和其他動物產品, 較少的水果和蔬菜,更多的加工食品加上體力活動少. 這家現代化的飲食成為心臟疾病的驚人的發病率越來越高的原因, 肥胖, 糖尿病等. 今天 40% 該產品在超市已經氫化脂肪. 轉基因產品無處不在. 我們不再知道我們吃什麼. 它是我們的錯太大. 什麼是“不良的飲食習慣”,在1950年的不那麼便宜了,很少能買得起為它付出,甚至更少找到天然產品. 對於啟動, 逐漸縮小的, 如果不能完全避免被作為食品出售的垃圾將是巨大的. 只有從好東西分離這, 我們可能會為當然為了我們的孩子,今天我們的健康和未來,作出更好的選擇.

如果你喜歡這篇文章, 說感謝分享它
Pin It

MEDITERRANEAN DIET

Olive Oil in the Mediterranean Diet as the Best Diet!

  • Olive Oil in Your Diet
  • Olive Oil and the Mediterranean Diet
  • “Poor” Diet

Olive Oil in Your Diet

As we already described it, olive oil with its multiple benefits is the healthiest oil to be consumed. Still some particular aspects must be discussed:

  • –      Olive oil has great effect when replacing the unhealthy fats from your diet (trans-fats, saturated fats and cholesterol) with the monounsaturated fats (oleic fatty acid) that olive oil contains;
  • –      as researches showed, it is not the amount of fats what matters most, but their quality;
  • –      just adding olive oil to your hamburger will not lower your cholesterol since it has already a high content of unhealthy fats;
  • –      if you consume a lot of margarine, fast food products, snacks and other foods with hydrogenated fat, do not expect a little olive oil on your salad to save you (for example, if in somebody’s diet 50% of the fats are unsaturated, 30% saturated fats, 10% trans-fats and only 10% monounsaturated fats, it is very unlikely that this 10% of healthy fat will actually have some effect when other 40% fat is fighting against);
  • –      read carefully the labels of the food products you buy, avoid as much as possible the bad fats and try to replace the oil you use with olive oil;
  • –      use olive oil not only for salads but also for cooking;
  • –      starting to use olive oil is a good step for achieving great results for your health, but still, other criteria must be also followed

Olive Oil and the Mediterranean Diet

Olive oil played a very important role in the diet that people from Mediterranean countries were following 50 years ago for more than 4000 years. In fact, olive oil was the main source of fat in their diet (up to 80%). But let’s see what Mediterranean diet is and where it came from.

In 1948, the Greek Government invited the Rockefeller Foundation to make a study and determine how to raise the population’s standard of living. The research was made on the isle of Crete. However, Leland Allbaugh and his colleagues discovered that the diets and food consumption levels were surprisingly good. The results showed that 61% of the total energy in the diet of Crete were made up from plant foods while food of animal origin made up only 7% (USA had 29% at that period) and 78% of the table fats were from olives and olive oil. The report concluded that: “olives, cereal grains, pulses, wild greens and herbs and fruits together with limited quantities of goat meat and milk and fish have remained the basic Greek and Spanish foods for forty centuries; no meal was complete without bread, olives and olive oil contributed heavily to the energy intake, food seemed literally to be swimming in oil. Wine was consumed frequently, with the midmorning, noon and evening meals”.

But, the interest in health benefits of Mediterranean diets begins with the work of Ancel Keys who, in 1952, impressed by the low incidence in heart disease in the region, started a 15 years investigation known as “Coronary Heart Disease in Seven Countries”. Data from Spain,Greece, Italy, Finland, Japan, the Netherlands, U.S.A. and Yugoslavia was compared and this information was used as the main research basis for the Mediterranean diet pyramid developed in 1990s.  Keys and the colleagues found out that the population of Greece had the lowest rates of heart disease and the highest longevity even if they were consuming a high amount of fat, similar to countries like U.S.A. Unlike the Mediterranean diet, Keys associated the American diet rich in meat and dairy fats with higher concentrations of blood cholesterol and therefore, with increased risk of coronary disease.

The Keys’ 1959 dietary advice for prevention of coronary heart disease:

  1. do not get fat; if you are fat, reduce

  2. restrict saturated fats: the fats in beef, pork, lamb, sausages, margarine and solid shortening and the fats in the dairy products

  3. prefer vegetable oils to solid fats, but keep total fats under 30% of your diet calories

  4. favour fresh vegetables, fruits and non-fat milk products

  5. avoid heavy use of salt and refined sugar

  6. good diets do not depend on drugs and fancy preparations

  7. get plenty of exercise and outdoor recreation

  8. be sensible about cigarettes, alcohol, excitement and business strain

  9. see your doctor regularly and do not worry

Another study between 1963 and 1965 by EURATOM (European Energy Atomic Commission) showed that the Mediterranean diet was based on plant foods and included olive oil as the main fat.

But the Mediterranean diet gained a world’s recognition only after 1993 when Oldways, the Harvard School of Public Health, and the European Office of the World Health Organization introduced the classic Mediterranean Diet at a conference in Cambridge, together with a Mediterranean Diet Pyramid graphic. The ones who developed this pyramid were two Greeks, Dr. Antonia Trichopoulou, Professor at Athens Medical School University, and Dr. Dimitrios Trichopoulos, Professor at Harvard School of Public Health.

This pyramid, awarded by UNESCO World Heritage Status, is universally recognized as the “gold standard” eating pattern that promotes lifelong good health.

“Poor” diet

When Leland Allbough made his investigation in 1948 in Crete, he noticed that only one out of six respondents was happy with the diet, and he even cited one citizen:” We are hungry most of the times.” The most desirable foods in that period were meat, rice, fish, pasta, cheese and butter. The Mediterranean diet was in fact the “poor diet”. Eating a lot of plant foods including green herbs and very small amount of animal origin fat had great health benefits. However, the modernization of food industry and prosperity brought up to 3-4 times more meat consumption and other animal products, less fruits and vegetables and more processed foods combined with less physical activity. This modern diet became the reason for alarmingly increasing incidence of heart disease, obesity, diabetes etc. Today 40% of the products in supermarkets have hydrogenated fats. Genetically modified products are everywhere. We no longer know what we eat. And it is our fault too. What was “the poor diet” in the 1950’s is not so cheap anymore and few can afford to pay for it and even fewer to find natural products. For start, diminishing, if not totally avoiding the garbage that is sold as food would be great. Only by separating this from the good stuff, we might make better choices for our health today and for the future and of course for our children.

If you liked this post, say thanks by sharing it
Pin It